Τρίτη, 18 Δεκεμβρίου 2018

Εντυπωσιακές φωτογραφίες του Juno από τον πλανήτη Δία. NASA's Juno Mission Halfway to Jupiter Science

Νέες εκπληκτικές φωτογραφίες από τον πλανήτη Δία, τις οποίες έστειλε το διαστημικό σκάφος Juno, δίνει στη δημοσιότητα η NASA. This series of images from NASA's Juno spacecraft captures changing cloud formations across Jupiter's southern hemisphere. A cloud in the shape of a dolphin appears to be swimming through the cloud bands along the South South Temperate Belt. Image Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Brian Swift/Seán Doran

Οι φωτογραφίες τραβήχτηκαν από το σκάφος στις 29 Οκτωβρίου, κατά τη 16η κοντινή του πτήση από την επιφάνεια του πλανήτη.

Check out this up-close ‘fly-by’ of planet Jupiter by NASA’s Juno Mission back in September 2017! (This animation reconstructs two and a half hours in a 125-fold time-lapse with 25 frames per second.) Courtesy: NASA / JPL / SwRI / MSSS / Gerald Eichstädt

Υπενθυμίζεται ότι το Juno ξεκίνησε το ταξίδι του τον Αύγουστο του 2011 και έφτασε σε αυτόν μετά από έξι χρόνια, τον Ιούλιο του 2016. Αποστολή του ήταν να δώσει στους επιστήμονες εικόνα, προκειμένου να μελετήσουν τη σύνθεση και την μορφολογία του Δία.

A south tropical disturbance has just passed Jupiter's iconic Great Red Spot and is captured stealing threads of orange haze from the Great Red Spot in this series of color-enhanced images from NASA's Juno spacecraft. From left to right, this sequence of images was taken between 2:57 a.m. and 3:36 a.m. PDT (5:57 a.m. and 6:36 a.m. EDT) on April 1, 2018, as the spacecraft performed its 12th close flyby of Jupiter. Citizen scientists Gerald Eichstädt and Seán Doran created this image using data from the spacecraft's JunoCam imager. Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Gerald Eichstädt/Seán Doran

Παρά το γεγονός ότι άργησε να φτάσει στο στόχο του, το υλικό που στέλνει από εκεί, σίγουρα άξιζε την αναμονή των επιστημόνων, οι οποίοι δηλώνουν ενθουσιασμένοι από τα ευρήματα.

Detailed structure in the clouds of Jupiter's South Equatorial Belt brown barge is visible in this color-enhanced image taken at 10:28 p.m. PDT on July 15, 2018 (1:28 a.m. EDT on July 16), as the spacecraft performed its 14th close flyby of the gas giant planet. Citizen scientist Kevin M. Gill created this image using data from the spacecraft's JunoCam imager. Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Kevin M. Gill

«Αυτό που προέκυψε από τις ανακαλύψεις μας, είναι πόσο διαφορετικός έμοιαζε ο Δίας στην πραγματικότητα, από αυτό που περιμέναμε», τόνισε ο Scott Bolton, ο επικεφαλής της αποστολής του Juno από το Ερευνητικό Ινστιτούτο του Σαν Αντόνιο και συνεχίζει:

A long, brown oval known as a "brown barge" in Jupiter's North North Equatorial Belt is captured in this color-enhanced image from NASA's Juno spacecraft. This image was taken at 6:01 p.m. PDT (9:01 p.m. EDT) on Sept. 6, 2018, as the spacecraft performed its 15th close flyby of Jupiter. Citizen scientist Kevin M. Gill created this image using data from the spacecraft's JunoCam imager. Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Kevin M. Gill

«Αυτή είναι μια κοντινή και προσωπική ματιά στον Δία. Θεωρούσαμε ότι είναι ομοιόμορφος εσωτερικά και σχετικά βαρετός. Αυτό που είδαμε είναι κάτι το εντελώς διαφορετικό».

A multitude of bright white "pop-up" storms in this Jupiter cloudscape appear in this image from NASA's Juno spacecraft. This color-enhanced image was taken at 1:55 p.m. PDT (4:55 p.m. EDT) on Oct. 29, 2018, as the spacecraft performed its 16th close flyby of Jupiter. Citizen scientists Gerald Eichstädt and Seán Doran created this image using data from the spacecraft's JunoCam imager. Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Gerald Eichstädt/Seán Doran

Όπως περιγράφει η NASA, στις φωτογραφίες διακρίνονται μεταξύ άλλων σύννεφα στη Βόρεια Θερμική Ζώνη του Δία.

Jupiter's northern circumpolar cyclones are captured in this color-enhanced image from NASA's Juno spacecraft. The image was taken at 5:42 p.m. PDT (8:42 p.m. EDT) on Sept. 6, 2018, as the spacecraft performed its 15th close flyby of Jupiter. Citizen scientist Gerald Eichstädt created this image using data from the spacecraft's JunoCam imager. Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/Gerald Eichstädt

Και όπως συμβαίνει με τα σύννεφα στη Γη, οι άνθρωποι βλέπουν διάφορα σχήματα μέσα σε αυτά, από… καλαμάρια, μέχρι πουλιά.